Shaivism Philosophy & Practice

Summary of the Seventh Observance Develop a spiritual will and intellect with your Satguru’s guidance. Strive for knowledge of God, to awaken the light within. Discover the hidden lesson in each experience to develop a profound understanding of life and yourself. Trough meditation, cultivate intuition by listening to the still, small voice within, by understanding the subtle sciences, inner worlds and mystical texts. The Seventh

Summary of the Eighth Observance Embrace religious vows, rules and observances and never waver in fulfilling them. Honour vows as spiritual contracts with your soul, your community, with God, Gods and guru. Take vows to harness the instinctive nature. Fast periodically. Pilgrimage yearly. Uphold your vows strictly, be they chastity, marriage, monasticism, non-addiction, tithing, loyalty to a lineage, vegetarianism or non-smoking. The Eighth Observance Sacred

Summary of the Ninth Observance Chant your holy mantra daily, reciting the sacred sound, word or phrase given by your guru. Bathe first, quiet the mind and concentrate fully to let japa harmonize, purify and uplift you. Heed your instructions and chant the prescribed repetitions without fail. Live free of anger so that japa strengthens your higher nature. Let japa quell emotions and quiet the

Summary of the Tenth Observance Practice austerity, serious disciplines, penance and sacrifice. Be ardent in worship, meditation and pilgrimage. Atone for misdeeds through penance (Prāyaśchitta), such as 108 prostrations or fasting. Perform self-denial, giving up cherished possessions, money or time. Fulfil severe austerities at special times, under a Satguru’s guidance, to ignite the inner fires of self-transformation. The Tenth Observance Austerity & Sacrifice Tapas /

Vīra Śaivism: History and Literature

*/ History and Literature of Vīra Śaivism. Part 2 A later Āgama probably of the thirteenth century called the Vīra- ś aivāgama speaks of the four schools of thought: Śaiva, Pāśupata, Vāma and Kula. Śaiva is again divided into Saumya and Raudra. The Saumya is of five kinds including demonology and magic as antidote to poison. The Śaiva school is called Dakṣiṇā, and the cult

Thirukural of Tiruvalluvar

*/ Subject Anchors: 1. Curbing of Desire 2. Destiny 3. The Grandeur of Monarchy 4. Education 5. Non-Learning 6. Listening 7. Possession of Wisdom 8. Avoiding Faults 9. Gaining Great Men's Help 10. Avoiding Mean Company 11. Deliberation before Action 12. Judging Strength 13. Knowing Proper Time 14. Judging the Place 15. Testing of Men For Confidence 16. Testing And Entrusting 17. Cherishing Kinsmen 18.

Thirukural of Tiruvalluvar | 3

*/ Subject Anchors: 1. Courage Before Councils 2. The Country 3. Fortress 4. Ways of Making Wealth 5. The Glory of Army 6. Military Pride 7. Friendship 8. Testing Friendship 9. Intimacy 10. Bad Friendship 11. False Friendship 12. Folly 13. Petty Conceit 14. Hatred 15. Noble Hostility 16. Appraising Enemies 17. Secret Foe 18. Offend Not the Great 19. Being Led By Women 20.


Shiva Mānasa Pūjā is a special text for Mental Worship of Shiva written by legendary Hindu saint and philosopher of 9th century - Śankara-āchārya. In Shiva Mānasa Pūjā we concentrate on our inner, mental worship, attitude and purification. We imagine all treasures of the world and in our mind offer them as a gift to Shiva.

Ganapati Atharvashirsha

Ganapati Atharvashirsha Hymn in praise of Gaṇesha from the atharva veda - Ganapati Atharvashirsha, transliterated and translated meaning in English || gaṇapatyatharvaśīrṣopaniṣat (śrī gaṇeṣātharvaṣīrṣam) || Hymn in praise of Gaṇesha from the atharva veda.

Shri Subrahmanya Ashtottara Shatanaamavali

Shri Subrahmanya Ashtottara Shatanaamavali / sri subramanya ashtothram / 108 Names of Lord Murugan, text, transliterated and with meaning in English